Christmas on Becca's Books | Christmas Q&A with Rebecca Raisin

~ Christmas Q&A ~

With Rebecca Raisin

 What does Christmas mean to you?
It’s a time to be thankful for how lucky we are, to be with our family and to have as much fun as possible, from baking delicious food, to finding the perfect gift for someone.

When does the Christmas excitement usually begin in your household?
This year it started in March! One of my little boys is a real Christmas fanatic, so he pulled out the tree and decorated it. He’s done this about twenty six million times since then, and I snaffle it away while he’s at school! I start getting super excited in November!

In terms of present shopping, do you like to begin early and stay organised, or are you a fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pants type of shopper?
I wish I was super organised! I am a last minute type, but this year have tried to correct that! I love planning what to get people, it’s just the execution that befuddles me!

What’s your favourite part of a Christmas dinner?
It’s when we’re all huddled around the kitchen together, helping to prepare it, sharing a glass of wine or two and listening to the kids shriek with happiness outside in the pool.

Favourite Christmas movie?
Love Actually!

Is Christmas usually a huge family affair for you, or a small gathering?
It’s the family affair! Although my mum and dad live elsewhere, as does my twin, so sadly it’s not often with them L

Who does the cooking?
We’re a family of foodies, so it’s shared among us all which is great! We all try and outdo each other with the fanciest take on traditional Christmas food!

What sits atop your Christmas tree?
A very sad golden star!! It’s had a very hard year being squashed atop the tree so many times!

Do you decorate with precision, or happy chaos?
The kids decorate with happy chaos, and if the tree is still upright a day later I’m overjoyed.

Who does the washing up afterwards?
Group effort!

 Favourite gift received?
My huge Paris picture of the city. It’s really intricate and we can see the apartment that we stayed in. It hangs above my bed so every night I’m like aww I love that place.

A Christmas reading recommendation?
Wish Upon a Christmas Cake by Darcie Boleyn.

If Santa could grant you one wish this year, what would it be?
Good health and happiness for my family.

How early do you wake up on Christmas morning?
It’s about 4am… and it’s not by choice!

Three favourite Christmas smells?
The baking turkey, the salt from the pool, and the smell of new books!

Have you ever spent Christmas away from home? Did you enjoy it, or miss the familiar surroundings?
Yes, we loved it, and are doing the same this year, but we’re pretty crafty so we are celebrating xmas a week earlier with the family, so we don’t miss out!

Do you pile presents around the tree, or wait until Christmas Eve so they’re there on Christmas morning? 
I have to hide those with military precision. Those kids can sniff out a gift at a hundred paces.

Has anything ever happened to you, to make you wonder if Christmas time really is magical?
Having kids whose eyes light up at just the thought that Santa and his reindeers are flying overhead in the inky night is magic itself.

If you could spend Christmas anywhere, where would you spend it?
London! I want to see my besties there and see the snow and have hot chocolate and see what you all do for Xmas!

Cranberry sauce or not?
Yes, Cranberry sauce served in peaches.

Mince pie or Christmas pudding?
Pudding!

Any special Christmas traditions?
We do Kris Cringle, so one adult gets one gift. It’s great fun really thinking about what that person would like and making it special.

How do you spend Boxing Day?
Reading! Usually at the beach, or at home, while the kids play with their new toys.

At what point do the Christmas decorations come down?
Well every other day, but officially at Christmas it will be Jan 1st.

What are you looking forward to most, this Christmas?
We’re going to an orphanage in Bali to see the kids there, and with the help of so many generous friends we’ve raised some money to buy them a range of essentials, so that will be pretty special!

Thank you so much for taking part in the Festive Q&A for Becca’s Books!
Thanks for having me! 

After a fabulous festive reading read this Christmas? Then be sure to take a peek at Rebecca Raisin's 'The Little Bookshop on the Seine'.



Le Vie En Rose
Bookshop owner Sarah Smith has been offered the opportunity to exchange bookshops with her new Parisian friend for 6 months! And saying yes is a no-brainer – after all, what kind of a romantic would turn down a trip to Paris…for Christmas?
Even if it does mean leaving the irresistible Ridge Warner behind, Sarah’s sure she’s in for the holiday of a lifetime – complete with all the books she can read!
Imagining days surrounded by books, munching on croissants, sipping café au laits and watching the snow fall on the Champs-Élysées Sarah boards the plane.
But will her dream of a Parisian Happily-Ever-After come true? Or will Sarah realise that the dream of a Christmas fairytale in the city of love isn’t quite as rosy in reality…
A deliciously feel-good Christmas romance perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson and Julia Williams.


Rebecca Raisin is a true bibliophile. This love of books morphed into the desire to write them. She's been published in various short story anthologies and in in fiction magazines, and is now focusing on writing romance. 


Rebecca aims to write characters you can see yourself being friends with. People with big hearts who care about relationships, and most importantly believe in true love.

You can find Rebecca Raisin on Facebook | Twitter | rebeccaraisin.com










Post a Comment